Use the Recording Studio to take your recorded sessions to the next level
Record, edit, and upload media to build a professional final video.
The Recording Studio is a new way to unleash the potential of your recorded content. Whether you want to do simple edits for your recordings and cut out mistakes, or create a whole new vision through different clips and videos edited together, the Recording Studio enables you to do it all and more.
Note: This is only available for enterprise and event channels. If interested, please contact your BigMarker point of contact or sales@bigmarker.com
Contents
Enabling the Recording Studio
The Recording Studio is currently in beta and will not be available on you channel by default. In order to do so, reach out to your BigMarker point of contact to get started.
Once enabled, there will be two ways to access the Recording Studio:
- In the Live Studio - Click on the camera icon in the left-hand navigation:

-
For past and on-demand sessions head over to the Session Admin dashboard and look for Recording Studio in the quick actions:

Using the Recording Studio in a live session
When a session is live, you can use the recording studio to record individual clips that you can later use in the editor. These clips can be recorded manually, or you can configure the clips to start and stop based on certain conditions.
Keep in mind that the recordings you make here are completely separate from the standard webinar recording. You can have both recordings going on at the same time, but the clips you make in the Recording Studio will not automatically become your on-demand recording.
The ability to record clips is only available during a live session. When the session is upcoming you will have no access to the Recording Studio, and when it is past you will only have access to the Editor.
Recording Clips Manually
Once in the Recording Studio, you'll see that the engagement panel will be replace by the clip panel. Click on Start Recording to begin recording a new clip.

After you start recording, you'll have options to stop or restart the recording

Once you stop recording, you'll be able to preview, rename, re-record or delete the clip. Otherwise you can clip on Save Clip to add this recording to your clip list.

Auto-clip
In addition to manually recording your clips, you can also turn on auto-clipping to create clips as you go through your live session as normal. Turn on the Auto-clip switch before starting your recording, and then the clips will automatically being recording.
You can click on Clip Settings to choose which actions will cause a new clip to be generated. You can choose from:
- Advancing a slide
- Starting a screen share
- Starting a video
- Expanding a presenter camera using spotlight

In these settings you also have the ability to set the minimum clip length along with whether or not you want to have full-fidelity audio come through in the clip. The latter setting for audio will affect both manual and automatic clips.
Using the Editor
Once you are done recording your clips, you'll be able to put everything together in the Editor. If you are in the live session still, click on either the Editor icon in the left navigation, or click on Combine in Editor in the clip recording panel


If you are using a past or on-demand session, click the Recording Studio button in the quick actions on the dashboard to reach the editor.
The Timeline
If you have recorded any clips, they will appear in the timeline in the order that you recorded them. You'll also see them in the clip list where you can re-add them to the timeline, rename, or delete them entirely.

Within the timeline you have a few options for editing the clips:
- Drag and drop a clip to change the order
- Drag the beginning or end of a clip to trim the length
- Put the playhead in the middle of a clip then click the Split button (hotkey "S") to split one clip into two
- Click a clip to select it, then duplicate or delete it from the timeline. Deleting clips in this way does not remove them from the clip list above
- Highlight a clip and open up the settings for that clip

Clip settings
While a clip is selected in the timeline, click the gear icon to open up the settings for the clip. In here you have a few options that affect only the selected clip. You can:
- Rename the clip
- Change the volume or mute the clip
- Have unique fade in or fade out times for this click
- Have a persistent text caption over the clip
- Choose specific timestamps of what to trim from the clip
- Give the clip a different playback speed

Additional Media
In addition to your recorded clips, you can also upload new video files to use in your project. Click on the Media tab an then either click the plus button to upload something from your computer, or you import the default webinar recording as one full clip. Click on the 3-dot menu of any of these items to bring the newly uploaded clip into the timeline.

If you frequently use the same imported media in your videos, just upload it one time to one session, then any future sessions can access those files by clicking on Reuse media from another webinar.
Settings and History
In the Settings tab you will have a few options for how the video will be processed:
-
Default transition animation - Choose how the video will look when going from one clip to another
- Quality - 720p or 1080p
- Export format - Choose from 16:9, or more mobile friendly aspect rations of 9:16 or 1:1
- Background music
- Branding - Upload a logo to be displayed for the duration of the video
When using a export format other than 16:9 you can control the zoom of the video as well as drag to reposition where you are zooming in. You can also choose to fit the entire video within the frame.

As you save your project, the different versions will be available for you to restore from the History tab:

Exporting your video
Once you are happy with your video, click on Export Video in the top right. When you do this, the editor will process your clips and settings into one video file. Depending on the length of your project, this may take several minutes.
Once complete, you'll have a few options. Either download the video, use the video as the on-demand recording for the session you're in, or simply save and exit.
